Question of the reader - the answer of a scientist
How are ice samples from Antarctica extracted, stored and transported?
Ice samples in Antarctica are obtained by drilling wells.

It is difficult to drill ice: ice is a viscous liquid, and at great depths there are very large crystals, where the ice temperature is high - it approaches the melting point. Therefore, the well floats quickly if left unattended. You need to keep it in working order.

But over half a century of drilling, specialists have learned how to drill even kilometer-long wells: now the deepest well in the world is 3,769 meters. It is located in the area of the subglacial Antarctic Lake Vostok.
Ice cores are extracted from the wells - ice cylinders with a diameter of about 10 centimeters. At the time of drilling, the length of the cylinder can be up to two meters, but then it is cut into pieces a meter long - this is more convenient to store. And it also helps in the calculation - if you cut the ice core into meter pieces, then the serial number of the ice core will correspond to the depth from which it was mined.

Basically, the ice core is stored in Antarctica: an ice core storage is arranged under the snow, and most of the extracted ice core is kept there. Polar explorers from Antarctic stations deliver to Russia only those samples that are needed for analysis.

Ice for different types of analysis is stored and transported in its own way.

For example, samples for isotopic analysis need the simplest conditions. Very little material is required – the ice core is cut with a saw into thin pieces 5 or 10 centimeters long, and even samples from the outside of the ice are suitable. Then the pieces are sealed in plastic bags and transported frozen. But even if something happens on the road and the ice core in the boxes melts, it will still be suitable for isotopic analysis - the isotopic composition of ice does not change during melting.

But for chemical or biological analysis, such samples are not suitable. They should be taken from the middle of the ice core to avoid possible contamination. And if the samples melt, they will have to be thrown away.

The most difficult thing is to bring samples to study the physical properties of ice. Even if ice is stored at –10 ° C, its properties change quickly. The naked eye does not notice this: the crystal structure of the ice and its volume change, its density slightly decreases, the ice expands, because the air bubbles in it are under pressure and tend to break it.

To protect ice from these processes, it must be stored at a temperature of –50 ° C - then it can be stored for several years. But these conditions are difficult to ensure, therefore such analyzes are often carried out directly in Antarctica - it is easier to bring the device to the ice than ice to the device. The ice core is removed from the borehole and examined in situ.
Made on
Tilda

ВОПРОС ЧИТАТЕЛЯ - ОТВЕТ УЧЁНОГО
Как добывают, хранят и перевозят образцы льда из Антарктиды?
Образцы льда в Антарктиде получают бурением скважин.

Бурить лёд сложно: лёд — это вязкая жидкость, а на большой глубине находятся кристаллы очень крупного размера, там высокая температура льда — она приближается к точке плавления. Поэтому скважина быстро заплывает, если оставить её без внимания. Нужно поддерживать её в рабочем состоянии.

Но за полвека буровых работ специалисты научились бурить даже километровые скважины: сейчас самая глубокая скважина в мире — 3 769 метров. Она находится в районе подлёдного антарктического озера Восток.
Из скважин извлекают керны — ледяные цилиндры диаметром примерно 10 сантиметров. В момент бурения длина цилиндра может быть до двух метров, но потом его режут на куски длиной в метр — так удобнее хранить. А ещё это помогает в подсчёте — если нарезать керн на метровые куски, то порядковый номер керна будет соответствовать глубине, с которой его добыли.

В основном керн хранится в Антарктиде: под снегом устроено кернохранилище, и большую часть добытого керна держат там. В Россию полярники с антарктических станций доставляют только те образцы, которые нужны для анализа.

Лёд для разных типов анализа хранят и перевозят по-своему.

Например, образцам для изотопного анализа нужны самые простые условия. Требуется совсем немного материала — керн режется пилой на тонкие кусочки длиной 5 или 10 сантиметров, причём подходят даже образцы с внешней стороны льда. Потом кусочки запаивают в полиэтиленовые пакеты и перевозят в замороженном виде. Но даже если что-то случится в дороге и керн в ящиках растает, то для изотопного анализа он будет по-прежнему пригоден — изотопный состав льда не меняется при таянии.

А вот для химического или биологического анализа такие образцы не подойдут. Их нужно брать из середины керна, чтобы избежать возможных загрязнений. А если образцы растают, их придётся выбросить.

Сложнее всего привезти образцы для изучения физических свойств льда. Даже если лёд хранится при температуре –10°C, его свойства меняются быстро. Невооружённым глазом этого не заметить: меняются кристаллическая структура льда и его объём, немного уменьшается его плотность, лёд расширяется, потому что пузырьки воздуха в нём находятся под давлением и стремятся разорвать его.

Чтобы уберечь лёд от этих процессов, надо хранить его при температуре –50°C — тогда он может пролежать несколько лет. Но эти условия сложно обеспечить, поэтому такие анализы часто проводят прямо в Антарктиде — проще привезти прибор ко льду, чем лёд к прибору. Ледяной керн вынимают из скважины и исследуют его свойства на месте.
Made on
Tilda